Das Biest und die Schöne. Die Sinfonien Nr. 4 und 5

Forkert, Annika (2018) Das Biest und die Schöne. Die Sinfonien Nr. 4 und 5. In: Ralph Vaughan Williams. MusikKonzepte Neue Folge . edition text + kritik, Munich, pp. 45-62. ISBN 978-3-86916-712-1

Full text not available from this repository. (Request a copy)


Vaughan Williams’s middle symphonies nos. 4 and 5 are often seen as two opposing poles, as extensions of the composer’s double character. Between the pivot of “Englishness” on the one hand and New Music on the other, the two symphonies also toy with the tensions between new and old, German and English, and not least modernism and romanticism. Through analysis of their key motives and reception, the chapter offers a reading of both pieces as two facets of one single attempt by Vaughan Williams to respond to contemporary challenges in composition, both at home and in Europe.

Item Type: Book Section
Faculty / Department: Faculty of Arts & Humanities > School of Creative and Performing Arts
Depositing User: Annika Forkert
Date Deposited: 21 Jan 2020 13:49
Last Modified: 21 Jan 2020 13:49
URI: https://hira.hope.ac.uk/id/eprint/2985

Actions (login required)

View Item View Item